DealerRater Panel

Google My Business page Permission Request Explained

Google My Business page Permission Request Explained

While connecting a dealership Google page to DealerRater from the “Reviews” > “All Reviews” tab you will be prompted to give dealerrater.com access to “See, edit, create and delete your Google business listings.”




In order for you to respond to your Google reviews from the Dealer Panel, DealerRater needs access to your review data provided by the Google API.

This permission language is generic for any vendor that wants access to your review data through the Google API. Every vendor will have different uses for that information, so this broad permission statement is used to cover a host of different use cases.

When the prompt refers to “see, edit, create and delete your Google business listing”, it is allowing you to see, respond to, edit, and delete your Google reviews directly in the Dealer Panel. When Google’s API sees a response from the DealerRater dashboard, the API recognizes DealerRater as the author of the response on behalf of the dealership (the response will still display on your Google page as though it was responded to by your dealership directly on Google).

DealerRater employees do not make any changes to your Google My Business page.

Your Google credentials are never saved on DealerRater and, therefore, DealerRater does not have access to make any administrative changes to your Google My Business account. The permissions you are granting only allow you to manage and respond to your Google reviews from within the Dealer Panel.


Feedback and Knowledge Base

Still need help? || Contact DealerRater Support
help@dealerrater.com
(800) 266-9455